Ecuador Pensioner Visa
At a glance
Ecuador's pensioner residence route requires a certified monthly retirement pension from a competent public or private institution. Savings and ordinary investment withdrawals do not replace the required pension evidence.
- Required income
- Certified foreign retirement pension
- 2026 amount
- USD $1,446 monthly, plus USD $250 per dependent
- Age
- No separate minimum age in the visa category
- Insurance
- Coverage valid in Ecuador for the full visa period
- Duration
- Temporary residence, generally up to 2 years under current law
- Minimum monthly income
- USD $1,446 in 2026
Summary
Ecuador's jubilado category is temporary residence for a person who receives a qualifying retirement pension from abroad. The current official rule asks for a document from the competent foreign public or private institution certifying a monthly retirement pension of at least three unified basic salaries.
Ecuador's 2026 unified basic salary is USD $482, so the principal applicant must document at least USD $1,446 per month for a 2026 filing. Each accompanying dependent requires another USD $250 per month. The amount changes when the unified basic salary changes.
The official requirement is an institution-certified retirement pension. It does not state a separate minimum age, and it does not describe every pension as needing a universal “guaranteed for life” phrase. What matters is whether the responsible institution can officially identify the payment as the applicant's retirement pension and certify the required monthly amount.
Eligibility
A strong pensioner application normally includes:
- a retirement pension paid from outside Ecuador;
- an official certificate from the responsible foreign public or private pension institution;
- a certified monthly amount at or above three current unified basic salaries;
- an additional USD $250 monthly for each dependent;
- private health insurance or equivalent coverage valid in Ecuador for the full visa period;
- a valid passport and lawful immigration position;
- required criminal-record and identity documents; and
- apostille or legalization and Spanish translation of foreign documents when required.
Social-security retirement, a government or military pension, or a genuine private pension can fit when the competent institution issues the required certificate. A person's own withdrawals from a bank, brokerage account, individual retirement account, or other savings vehicle are not automatically a “retirement pension” simply because the person uses them after retiring. Those facts may point to the rentista or investor category instead.
The threshold is based on the gross certified monthly pension amount that the authority accepts, not on a broad annual-income bracket. For 2026, a certified amount below USD $1,446 does not meet the principal threshold. If exchange rates affect a non-dollar pension, ask how and when the authority converts it.
The insurance evidence must cover Ecuador for the same period requested for the visa. A domestic public or private health plan that excludes treatment in Ecuador should not be assumed sufficient.
What This Route Allows
Approval gives temporary residence in Ecuador on the pension basis. Current law generally allows temporary residence for up to two years and provides for renewal if the category and evidence remain valid.
The resident can live in Ecuador, obtain the corresponding identity document, use local services, and undertake lawful activities allowed by Ecuadorian law. Qualifying dependents can use the applicable family process when the added income and relationship requirements are met.
After satisfying the applicable residence rules, a pensioner may later apply separately for permanent residence. Neither permanent residence nor citizenship is automatic. Ordinary naturalization generally uses a permanent-residence clock, not the date the pensioner visa was first granted.
Living in Ecuador can create Ecuadorian tax residence under SRI rules even when the pension is paid abroad. Pension taxation can also depend on Ecuadorian tax law and any applicable international rules, so obtain advice before moving.
What This Route Is Not
This is not:
- a general visa for anyone who considers themselves retired;
- an age-based route;
- a route based only on a savings balance;
- a route for ordinary withdrawals that no institution will certify as a pension;
- a “close enough” income standard;
- a waiver of the health-insurance requirement; or
- immediate permanent residence or citizenship.
It is also not necessary to invent a lifetime-guarantee condition that the official procedure does not state. A private pension should be judged using the institution's official certificate and the current authority's rules, not an informal label.
Next Steps
- Ask the pension administrator whether it can issue an official letter identifying the benefit as a retirement pension and stating the monthly amount.
- Send the current Ecuadorian procedure to the administrator so the letter uses accurate facts rather than marketing language.
- Recalculate three unified basic salaries for the filing year. For 2026, use USD $1,446, then add USD $250 monthly for each dependent.
- Confirm how a pension paid in another currency will be valued and retain statements showing actual payments.
- Check whether the pension certificate needs apostille or consular legalization and arrange an accepted Spanish translation.
- Obtain insurance with written terms showing Ecuador coverage for the full requested visa period.
- Prepare current passport, criminal-record, immigration-status, and dependent civil records using the official checklist.
- File through the current Cancillería channel and keep the pension and insurance evidence current.
- Review SRI tax-residence and pension-tax questions before establishing a long stay.
Sources
- Pensioner temporary-residence procedure — official pension certificate, income, dependent, and insurance requirements.
- Ministry of Labour announcement setting the 2026 unified basic salary at USD $482 — official 2026 threshold input.
- Temporary-residence visa information — official Ministry of Foreign Affairs visa portal.
- Organic Reform Law to the Human Mobility Law — official 2025 current-law publication.
- SRI natural-person tax residence — official tax-residence rules.